The Real Price of Pampering

I admit that I am somewhat of a product junkie.  I love to buy the latest and greatest hair, skin and facial products on the market.  I am not as bad as I used to be…but I still have a long way to go.  🙂  I once read an article that stated the average woman will spend at least $13,000 in their lifetime on cosmetics and other beauty products. I am not surprised to hear that…especially given the high prices many of us are willing to pay for those fancy cremes and potions.  But are some of those products really worth the price tag?

During one of my visits to my dermatologist, she commented on how great my skin looked.  She asked if I was using one of the moisturizers she had been prescribing (which happened to cost almost $100).  Because I was being cheap that month, I was actually using an over the counter product from the drugstore that cost less than $15! She was amazed and said keep on using it since it was working so well.  There are some things I think you should not skimp on such as natural sulfate-free shampoos/conditioners and cosmetics/products with other natural, concentrated ingredients. I try to keep artificial ingredients, fillers and perfumes down to a minimum.  But, there are some things you can skip out on to save a few extra bucks.

Wrinkle Cremes Peptide cremes are all you need.  You can find these in your favorite Loreal and Oil of Olay Regenerist over the counter products.  You can buy some of them for less than 20 bucks.  Be on the look out for coupons online or in your junk mail circulars.

Eyelash/Eyebrow Growth Serums:  Prescription remedies like Latisse can be very costly.  Why not try a similar over the counter product like Rapid Lash or Prep + Prime Future Length Lash Serum from M.A.C. Cosmetics?  Or you can go the really inexpensive route with plain ole olive or castor oil.

Professional Teeth Whitening:  Over the counter whitening strips work just as well and cost a lot less than what your dentist will charge you.  Baking Soda is a great alternative too…even better on your pocketbook.  Sip your coffee and tea from a straw to keep your teeth whiter even longer!

Pamper Wisely,

The BusyBella

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “The Real Price of Pampering”

  1. Wendy says :

    What moisturizer were you using?! Haha, you can’t just leave us hanging like that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

