TLC for Winter Skin (Part One)

I am sooooo not a winter person.  I hate the snow, ice, and especially the cold.  This time of the year also wrecks havoc on my skin…which gets terribly dry.  I LOVE hot showers, but it also zaps my skin of all its moisture.  If you are like me, you need a little extra TLC to keep your skin soft and smooth during this time of year.  If you don’t want to opt for expensive moisturizing body wraps or paraffin treatments at the day spa. try some of these great home remedies.

Face

Does your face feel tight and itchy after you wash it?

Try this great recipe for dry skin which uses bananas:

1/4 cup plain yogurt

2 tablespoons honey

1 medium banana

Mash all ingredients together with a fork.

Smooth over entire face.
Leave on face for 10-15 minutes.

Here’s another recipe:

Mix an egg yolk

Teaspoon each of olive oil and orange joice

Add a couple drops of rose water and lime juice

Apply this mixture to your face and leave it on for 15 minutes before washing it off.

Feet

During this time of the year, you may not have to worry about showing off your feet in cute wedges or sandals.  But that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t give your feet (more importantly, your heels) some special attention. Cold, dry winter weather are your skin’s worst enemy. Take the inside of your banana peels (from your banana face mask) and rub them on your heels.  They are are great for dry, cracked skin.

Paraffin Wax is a staple during my bi-weekly pedicure routine.  But in between my visits to the nail salon, I lather on a thick layer of cocoa butter and/or Vaseline on the soles of my feet.  Then, I slide on a pair of plush, cotton socks and go to bed.  In the morning, my feet are nice and smooth.  Another idea:  Add some baking soda to a tub of water and soak your feet for 15 to 20 minutes. This will also help soften dry, rough feet.  Add some warm milk for extra moisture.

In my next post, I will share some great natural remedies for dry skin all over your body.

Do you have ideas that have worked for you?  Please share.

Pamper Wisely,

The BusyBella

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

