Green Your Beauty Routine

Okay, I admit it.  I am not the best when it comes to recycling.  I don’t always separate the paper from the plastic and the glass and I don’t always use that green recycling bucket on trash day.  However, this year I made a commitment to be more diligent in my recycling habits, starting with my beauty routine.

I am sure you are already aware of the recycling program with M.A.C. Cosmetics. If you return six M.A.C primary packaging containers to either a M.A.C counter or online, you will receive a Free M.A.C lipstick of your choice.

What I didn’t know is that Kiehl and Aveda also have recycling programs.  Kiehl’s always accepts their bottles and containers for recycling, and sometimes they also offer a “thank you” freebie as an incentive.  Check with your local Kiehl retailer to get updates about the company’s recycling program.

Aveda, on the other hand, recycles caps to help eliminate the accumulation of plastic bottle caps in landfills, oceans and rivers.  The program collects rigid polypropylene plastic caps that show a “5” on the plastic or in the recycling arrows. These caps can be found on shampoo, water, soda, milk and other beverage bottles, flip top caps on tubes and food product bottles (such as ketchup and mayonnaise), laundry detergents and some jar lids such as peanut butter.

Are you looking for other ways to ‘green’ your beauty routine?

-Buy refill bottles for your hand soaps, shampoos and conditioners.  One bottle can last for years.  They are cheap if you get them from Wal-Mart or even your local Dollar Store.  Think of all the plastic you will be saving in the long run.

-Make use of hotel freebies.  I’ve been doing this for years.  Every time I go to a hotel, I hoard all the free shampoos, soaps and conditioners that are placed in the bathroom.  I not only keep them for future travel, but I also place them in a wicker basket in my guest bathroom.  It saves me and my guests from going through useless containers, plastic wrapping and bottles in beauty and skin care products.

How do YOU green your beauty routine?

Pamper Wisely,

The BusyBella

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

