An Alternative to Acetone

Every two weeks I head to my local nail salon for my routine mani/pedi.  I love the hottest trends in colors for the spring and summer months.  But, because I use gel nail polish, I have to sit with my nails soaked in acetone during my pedicure in order to remove my old polish.  I can’t help but to wonder what this regular exposure to acetone is doing to my nails…as well as to my health. Acetone is very drying to your nails and cuticles.  Also, acetone can irritate your eyes and your skin.  So…I did a little research and found some natural alternatives to acetone.

Priti Natual Soy Nail Polish Remover:  This remover does not contain acetone, petroleum, or carcinogens – it is soy and corn based, containing ingredients from organic farm crops. Ingredients include: Natural Soybean Esters, Biodegradable Dibasic Esters, and Organic Lemongrass Essential Oil -which means it will not dry out your nails or cuticles.  This is save for to use with all brands of nail polish.

Priti NYC Natural Soy Polish Remover - Click to enlarge

2.  Eco-Easy Nail Polish Remover:  This is biodegradable, vegan, contains no synthetic or petrochemicals and removes even the toughest nail polish.  Ingredients include:  Ethyl lactate – from sugar betts, Glycerin, Water, Mentha spicata-spearmint leaft, Rosmarinus verbenone- rosemary.   Use this the same as you would any other nail polish remover.

Peacekeeper Cause-Metics Nail Polish Remover - 4 oz - Liquid

3.  Suncoat Natural Nail Polish Remover:  This alternative is also natural, biodegradable, non-carcinogenic and non-toxic.  Ingredients include:  ethyl lactate (from corn fermentation), methyl soyate (from soya oil), vegetable glycerin, D-limonene (from orange).  This can be used with water-based nail polish as well as the conventional kinds.

click to see larger image

Have you tried any of these acetone alternatives?  If so, I’d love to read your reviews.

Pamper Wisely.

The BusyBella

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

