The Never List

If you read my last post, “Do You Know the Skin You’re In’, you’ll remember that I challenged you to look up the ingredients listed on the back of your favorite beauty products. Chances are, you came across a list of long, hard to pronounce words.  If you are like me, you want to know what those words mean and how they affect our bodies.  

Our skin is our largest organ, covering about 18 square feet of the human body. It protects us, keeps us warm, cools us down and is our first defense in fighting off illness or disease. That is why we need to be extra vigilant in taking care of our skin.

In an effort to educating the public about the toxins and chemicals found in our everyday hair and skin products, Beautycounter has compiled a ‘Never List’. This is a list of ingredients that you will never find in Beautycounter products. I needed this list while I was pregnant.  I was so extra careful to take care of my skin and the growing boy inside of my belly. Now that I am nursing, I will carry this list with me to make sure my beauty products meet this standard.  Doing Better starts with Knowing Better…so here is a sample of Beautycounter’s ‘Never List’. 


Animal fats, oils, and musks: tallow, rendered beef or mutton fat, oils or musks from animals like mink, emu and sharks that are procured after an animal has been killed. Found in: soap, salve, shaving products, lubricants, paints, and all types of cosmetics.
 

Benzalkonium chloride: a disinfectant used as a preservative and surfactant associated with severe skin, eye and respiratory irritation and allergies. Found in: sunscreens, moisturizers.
 


Benzophenone and derivatives: a possible human carcinogen and hormone disruptor used as a fragrance ingredient and to absorb ultraviolet light. Found in: nail polish, sunscreen.
 

Bisphenol A (BPA): a hormone disruptor that may also alter DNA, used in plastics and resins. Found in: plastic bottles, lining of aluminum food cans, possibly in eyeshadow and styling gel.
 


To see the full list, click here:  http://www.beautycounter.com/the-never-list/?ConsultantFirstName=Shani&ConsultantID=103404&ConsultantLastName=Blount

I am looking for a few passionate individuals who believe in putting safe ingredients into the hands of everyone.  If this sounds like you, I would love to have you join my BusyBellas team at Beautycounter.  If interested, please email me: thebusybella@gmail.com.

Pamper Wisely,

The BusyBella

Leave a Reply

